5 MAY 2021

NEW FOREST DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the New Forest District Council held on Wednesday, 5 May 2021

> * Cllr Allan Glass (Chairman) * Cllr Derek Tipp (Vice-Chairman)

Councillors:

Councillors:

- * Alan Alvey
- * Diane Andrews
- * Ann Bellows
- * Sue Bennison
- * Geoffrey Blunden Hilary Brand
- * Alex Brunsdon Fran Carpenter
- * Louise Cerasoli
- * Mark Clark
- * Rebecca Clark
- * Steve Clarke
- * Jill Cleary
- * Anne Corbridge
- * Keith Craze
- * Kate Crisell Jack Davies
- * Steve Davies
- * Arthur Davis
- * Sandra Delemare
- * Philip Dowd
- * Jan Duke
- * Barry Dunning
- * Jacqui England
- * Andrew Gossage
- * Michael Harris
- * David Harrison
- * David Hawkins
- * Edward Heron

- Jeremy Heron
- Alison Hoare
- Maureen Holding
- **Christine Hopkins**
- Mahmoud Kangarani
- Joshua Kidd
- Emma Lane
- Martyn Levitt
- Alexis McEvoy
- Ian Murray
- Alan O'Sullivan
- Stephanie Osborne
- Neville Penman Caroline Rackham
- Alvin Reid
- Joe Reilly
- **Barry Rickman**
- Tony Ring
- Steve Rippon-Swaine
- David Russell
- Ann Sevier
- Mark Steele
- Michael Thierry
- **Beverley Thorne**
- Neil Tungate
- Alex Wade
- Malcolm Wade
- * Christine Ward
- John Ward

*Present

Officers Attending:

Bob Jackson, Sara Hamilton, Donna Langfield, Grainne O'Rourke, Colin Read, Daniel Reynafarje, Andy Rogers, Manjit Sandhu, Claire Upton-Brown, Karen Wardle and Matt Wisdom.

Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs Brand, Carpenter, J Davies and Rackham.

1 FORMER COUNCILLOR JOHN WADDINGTON

The Chairman referred with great sadness to the recent death of John Waddington, a former councillor, Chairman and Leader of New Forest District Council.

John was first elected a councillor for the Ringwood North Ward in 1976 and served until 1983. He served as Chairman and Leader between 1981-1983. He was reelected in 1998 and held the portfolio for environment between 2000-2001. John left the Council in 2002.

The Chairman, on behalf of the Council, placed on record his sincere thanks for John's service.

2 MINUTES

RESOLVED:

That the minutes of the meeting held on 12 April 2021, be confirmed.

3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of any disclosable pecuniary interests by Members.

4 VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING CHAIRMAN

The Leader of the Council proposed that a vote of thanks be extended to the outgoing Chairman, Cllr Glass, for the admirable way in which he had carried out the duties of Chairman during the past municipal year. In extraordinary times, the municipal year had lasted two calendar years in response to the coronavirus pandemic. Cllr Cleary seconded the motion.

Other Members of the Council spoke in support of the motion.

RESOLVED:

That the thanks of this Council be extended to Cllr Glass for the admirable way in which he has carried out the duties of Chairman during the past municipal year.

5 OUTGOING CHAIRMAN'S STATEMENT

The Chairman thanked Members for their kind words and reported on the charity work undertaken in the past year for the New Forest Disability Information Service and Solent Dolphins. The Chairman invited Jacqui Keable of the New Forest Disability Information Service to say a few words.

Mrs Keable expressed sincere thanks to the Chairman and the Council for the level of support during the past year.

The apologies of Nigel Bassett of Solent Dolphins were given who was unable to attend.

The Chairman expressed his thanks to Members and Officers for their support and assistance in what had been an unprecedented municipal year from 2019 – 2021.

6 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Cllr Glass moved that Cllr Tipp be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year. Cllr Russell seconded the motion.

RESOLVED:

That Cllr Tipp be elected Chairman of the Council for the 2021/22 municipal year, until his successor is elected at the Annual Council meeting in May 2022.

Cllr Tipp signed the declaration of acceptance of office, which was formally witnessed by the Monitoring Officer. He was then invested with the Chain and Badge of Office before taking the chair.

7 ADDRESS BY THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

The Chairman thanked Members of the Council for electing him and in doing so paid tribute to the outgoing Chairman, Cllr Glass and his wife for their two years in office.

He announced that his charity for the year would be Oakhaven Hospice.

8 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

Cllr Tipp moved that Cllr O'Sullivan be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year. The motion was seconded by Cllr S Davies.

RESOLVED:

That Cllr O'Sullivan be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council for the 2021/22 municipal year, until his successor is elected at the Annual Council meeting in May 2022.

Cllr O'Sullivan signed the declaration of acceptance of office, which was formally witnessed by the Monitoring Officer. He was then invested with the Badge of Office.

Cllr O'Sullivan thanked Members of the Council for electing him.

9 LEADER'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were none.

10 COMMITTEE AND PANEL STRUCTURE

The Leader of the Council moved the recommendations for the Council's new Committee and Panel structure. Cllr Cleary seconded the motion.

RESOLVED:

1. That the following Committees and Panels and the number of seats on each body be approved:-

Committee/Panel	No. seats
Appeals Committee	20
Audit Committee	8
General Purposes and Licensing Committee	15
HR Committee	8
Planning Committee	20
Community, Partnerships and Wellbeing Overview & Scrutiny Panel	10
Corporate Affairs and Local Economy Overview & Scrutiny Panel	10
Environment and Sustainability Overview & Scrutiny Panel	10
Housing and Homelessness Overview & Scrutiny Panel	10

- 2. That the terms of reference of the Overview and Scrutiny Panels as circulated with the agenda, be approved; and
- 3. That the Monitoring Officer be authorised to make the consequential changes to the Constitution arising from the above.

11 ALLOCATION OF SEATS AND APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND PANELS

The Leader of the Council moved the adoption of the recommendations contained within the report, which asked the Council to make appointments to committees and panels in accordance with the principles as set out in Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. Cllr Cleary seconded the motion.

The Council, having received both the wishes of the political groups and the preferences of the non-aligned Members, considered the option to allocate seats to the non-aligned Members as nearly as possible in proportion to the number of those members on the Council.

RESOLVED:

- That the allocation of seats to committees and panels in accordance with the principles set out in the report, be agreed as at the table at paragraph 3.5 of the report; and
- 2. That the Council gives effect to the wishes of the political groups in making appointments to these Committees and Panels as set out in the supplementary paper, for the remainder of the four year period ending May 2023.

12 MEETING DATES FOR THE 2021/22 MUNICIPAL YEAR

RESOLVED:

That the following Council meeting dates for the 2021/22 Municipal Year, all commencing at 6.30 pm, be noted:-

- 21 June 2021 (Extraordinary Meeting, Provisional)
- 12 July 2021
- 6 September 2021
- 11 October 2021

- 6 December 2021
- 21 February 2022
- 11 April 202216 May 2022 (Annual Meeting)

CHAIRMAN